Seminar on nation (I): The birth of a notion

This week the group of advanced research is honoured to receive the visit of a representation of the research project “Nación y Nacionalismo español”, from Ortega y Gasset Foundation, in Madrid.

Antonio Morales Moya, professor of Carlos III University, Andrés de Blas, professor of Distance National University and Mariano Esteban de Vega, professor of Salamanca University, will expose their papers with Atlantic Empires research group’s member, Maria Antonia Fernández, this tuesday at 5 pm.

On thursday, José Varela Ortega, president of Ortega y Gasset Foundation and also member of the project “Nación y nacionalismo español”, will give an extraordinarie lecture, under the title of “IN THE EYES OF OTHERS: The image of Spain abroad: the history of a stereotype”.

This link contains the detailed program of this week activities SEMINARIO_II_(1_Y_2).

About atlanticempires

ATLANTIC EMPIRES (Æ) is the short name of a group of advanced research in Modern History hosted and financed by Real Colegio Complutense at Harvard University (RCC). The complete name of the group is From Empire to Nation: The Making of Modern Nations in the Crisis of the Atlantic Empires (17th-20th Centuries), which constitutes also the field of its research. The group will be working at Real Colegio Complutense from July 1 thru August 31, 2010. Throughout this period, Æ will develop its research project and present its first findings and results in a set of seminars and panels, some of them with the contribution of other specialists and groups of research. Also, Æ will host three extraordinary conferences at RCC, given by Prof. J. Varela Ortega (Universidad Rey Juan Carlos and Fundación Ortega y Gasset, Madrid), Prof. David Armitage (Harvard University), and Prof. Stanley Payne (University of Wisconsin-Madison). Æ benefits from the financial support of Banco Santander. Æ is composed by eleven researchers: Juan Francisco Fuentes (director), Eva Botella (coordinator), Octavio Ruiz-Manjón, Josep Maria Fradera, Javier Fernández Sebastián, José Antonio Sánchez Román, María Antonia Fernández, Margarita Márquez, Antonio Terrasa, Florentino Rodao and Regina Martínez (grant holder and responsible of the blog).
This entry was posted in Activities. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s